Have You Met My Boyfriends?

No, that’s not a typo up there. I really do mean boyfriends. And today is our second anniversary.



From the left: Michael, Freya(that’s me!), and Steven

Our relationship isn’t conventional, but it’s not totally out of the ordinary either. We live together, we shop for groceries together, we take each other to doctors appointments and we go on vacation together. We have interests we share and hobbies we don’t. I cookout  meals, Steven sews like a madman, and Michael is the handiest of men. We arent that different from other relationships. And we are polyamorous.

I try to keep this blog to posts that all people of differing mores and ideologies can enjoy, but I was inspired by my friend Cat, when she wrote about sharing controversial posts

Though that was from a little while back, I was reminded that I’ve been meaning to do this when we were out at Fisherman’s Warf this weekend to celebrate. Michael and I both kissed Steven on the cheek when we went of in search of drinks and left him talking to a shopkeeper. Neither of us hesitated- it was completely natural- but I was reminded that people sometimes don’t think it’s normal by the look of surprise and confusion on the mans face as we walked away. We are fortunate that this is San Francisco and the man needed barely an explanation from Steven before he shrugged it off. We’re blessed to live in a place where we don’t usually risk violence by kissing the people we love in public, and where the looks of bemused acceptance so vastly outnumber confusion and disgust that I usually can’t remember the last negative reaction we’ve gotten.

The anniversary of meeting one of my two sweethearts was the perfect opportunity to come out to you, my readers. This is who I am. This is who I love. And I intend to keep them around as long as they will have me.

Leave a Reply

